Kolak, The Most Popular Dish at Ramadan

In this ramadan month (islamic lunar calendar) kolak is the most popular dish in Indonesia. At home, traditional market, modern markets, restaurant, dinners, even hotels serves this dish. Aside from dates, people looking for kolak to break their fasting. What’s inside kolak? A lot of things, sweet potatoes, pumpkin, green beans, kolang-kaling, cassava, banana, jackfruit, etc. used all of them in one single dish, sure do that, or maybe you’ll only want two of those ingredients in your kolak, there is no problems with that. Like me, I only want banana and jackfruit in my kolak.

Kolak is easy to cook, you just need put it all together and voila. To cook kolak you will need, coconut milk, pandan leaves, sugar (brown sugar is the best), and whatever ingredients you have (sweet potatoes, pumpkin, green beans, kolang-kaling, cassava, banana, jackfruit, etc). A little secret from my grandma, if you use pumpkin in your kolak, used the seeds as well, it will make your kolak more fragrance and mouth watering. First boiled sweet potato, pumpkin, cassava or any other ingredients you used and pandan leaves, when they already cooked and softened add some sugar (as much as you like), add the coconut milk, stir it well and wait until it’s bubbling, turn off the heat and done.

Hot or with ice, both is best way to enjoy kolak.

Leave a comment

I’m Ingrid

Welcome to Indonesian Street Food. A blog dedicated to my love for good street food in Indonesia. Here, I invite you to join me on a journey of finding a good, delicious food all over Indonesia. Let’s go.

Let’s connect

My Business

Friendly Blog